Bachianas Brasileiras #4 (Piano)

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


Originally written for piano, in the period 1930-1941.  Villa-Lobos orchestrated the work in 1942.

  • Prelúdio (Introdução) (1941, RJ)
  • Coral (Canto do Sertão) (1941, RJ)
  • Ária (Cantiga) (1935, RJ)
  • Dança (Miudinho) (1930, SP)  

Thesis: Rust, Roberta. 1991. Piano works from Hietor Villa-Lobos' middle period a study of Choros no. 5, Bachianas Brasileiras no. 4, and Ciclo Brasileiro. Thesis (D.M.A.)--University of Miami, 1991. 

Thesis: Rey, Mario. 1991. The Contribution of Bachian and Brazilian folk elements to the structural unity in Heitor Villa-Lobos' "Bachianas Brasileiras no. 4 for piano". Thesis (M.M.)--University of South Florida, 1991.


Solo Piano


Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1941. Bachianas brasileiras no. 4 (para piano solo). Rio de Janeiro: Casa Arthur Napoleão. A new score from Brazil:

Villa-Lobos, Heitor, Antônio Carlos Neves Campos, Marcos Roque, Heitor Villa-Lobos, Heitor Villa-Lobos, and Heitor Villa-Lobos. 2009. O piano e as bachianas. Rio de Janeiro: Irmãos Vitale. 

Clinton Nieweg regularly updates a master-list of information about the Bachianas Brasileiras. It's available at (the latest version is from January 2013). 


The piano version was first performed by José Vieira Brandão on November 27, 1939. This work is one of the most popular works in the Villa-Lobos catalogue.  Performances in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database (nearly 150 as of February 2010) are more or less evenly divided between the piano and orchestral versions.

Bachianas Brasileiras
Piano Works