Pequena Suite for cello and piano

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


An early work by a professional cellist, this piece was written in 1913 in Rio de Janeiro.

I'm not too sure what to make of the fact that there are actually two works from 1913 for cello & piano listed in Appleby's catalogue: the 12 minute Pequena Sonata (W063), and the 15 minute Pequena Suite (W064).  According to Villa-Lobos: Sua Obra (1989) the Sonata is lost.

Here's an excellent performance of two movements from the Suite by cellist Mateus Ceccato and pianist Luciano Magalhãe.



Cello & piano


Published by Max Eschig, Paris.Because works written before 1923 are public domain in the U.S., you can download the score from the Internet Archive.   This PDF is a scan by Google Books, from the collection of David P. Appleby at the University of Texas at Austin.  You can also download the score at


The first performance was by the composer and his first wife, in the Teatro D. Eugenia, on January 29, 1915.As of December 2010, there are 5 performances listed in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database.

Chamber Music