String Quartet #03

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


The third String Quartet was written in Rio in 1916.  It sometimes goes by the subtitle Quarteto de pipocas, a reference to the pizzicati of the Scherzo.  - Tarasti (1995), p. 302.

This was one of the works featured in the 1922 Semana de Arte Moderna


  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Molto vivo
  3. Molto adagio
  4. Allegro con fuoco

String Quartet


Published by Max Eschig in Paris.Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1951. Troisième quatuor à cordes. Paris: Editions M. Eschig.  Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1929. 3ème [i.e. Troisième] quatuor: pour 2 violins, alto et violoncelle. Paris: M. Eschig. 


The premiere was on November 12, 1919, at Rio's Teatro Municipal.It was featured on the 2nd day of the Semana de Arte Moderna in Sao Paulo, on February 15, 1922:This piece made a big splash in Paris, at a chamber music festival in Paris in March 1928: "Le Quatuor de M. Villa Lobos, compositeur brésilien, est nerveux, solide, chantant, rythme; il y a comme une saveur des tropiques dans sa chaude atmosphère..." - P. de L., in Le Ménestrel, 1928/03/30, p. 145. There are five records in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database as of August 2009.

Chamber Music