Symphony #12

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


The 12th Symphony was composed in New York in 1957, and is dedicated to Mindinha.  Villa-Lobos finished the composition on his 70th birthday (March 5, 1957).

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo (Vivace)

Molto allegro


Orchestrapic, 2fl, 2ob, c ing, 2cl(Bb), cl baixo, 2fg, cfg, 4cor, 4trp(Bb), 4 trb, tuba, tímp, tam-tam, pratos, coco (grave, médio e agudo), xil, cel, hp e cordas


The symphony is published by Max Eschig in Paris.  The autograph score (129 pp.) is in the Museu Villa-Lobos.


The work was premiered by the National Symphony Orchestra under the direction of H. Mitchell in 1958.There are only a few performances of the Symphonies in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database.

Orchestral Works