Cello Sonata #2

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


  1. Allegro Moderato
  2. Allegro cantabile
  3. Scherzo (Allegro scherzando)
  4. Allegro Vivace sostenuto

Robin Stowell finds this piece remarkable for its French influences:

"... its first two movements resemble the work of Franck and Faure respectively, while the finale recalls the first movement's principal theme (cello in diminution) accompanied by trés sec piano chords (in imitation of a tambourine) in the manner of Debussy's Cello Sonata."

The Cambridge companion to the cello, p. 132.

Villa-Lobos gave the work the designation "op. 66".

Vasco Mariz tells this interesting story: "Rubinstein invented a hypothetical collector and bought from [Villa-Lobos] the autographed manuscript of his cello sonata at a very high price. Years later, Villa-Lobos found these originals by chance at the virtuoso's home."


Cello and piano


Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1930. Sonata No. 2, Op. 66, for cello & piano (1916). [CC110]. [S.l.]: Eschig.


Premiere performance: 17/11/17, Rio de Janeiro - Salão Nobre do Jornal do Commercio. Gustavo Hess de Melo, vlc; Lucilia Villa-Lobos, pf

Chamber Music