Valsa concerto #2

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 



This is one of Villa-Lobos's very first compositions to survive. The manuscript ("Rio, 1904") indicates that this is "op. 8". The work isn't complete, and seems to exist only in manuscript form (in the Museu Villa-Lobos).

Stanley Yates discusses the background to the recent discovery of this work, in his article "Heitor Villa-Lobos' Valsa Concerto No. 2, Op. 8 (1904): Rediscovery and Completion of an Early Work for Solo Guitar (1999)." Soundboard: Journal of the Guitar Foundation of America (Spring, 1999, XXV, no. 4, 7-10).  Yates mentions in his article that he finished the work in 1998 and that its publication by Max Eschig was "forthcoming."

The work was also completed by guitarist Ricardo Simões. You can listen to his performance in this episode of Violão com Fábio Zanon.


Solo Guitar


Only one performance in the Concerts database as of July 2011.

Guitar Works