Symphony #09

Appleby Catalogue W number: 
Year Composed: 


Dedicated to Mindinha.

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo (Vivace)
  4. Allegro giusto

Orchestrapic, 2fl, 2ob, c ing, 2cl(Bb), cl baixo, 2fg, cfg, 4cor, 4trp(Bb), 4 trb, tuba, tímp, tam-tam, pratos, coco, bombo, xil, cel, vibe, hp e cordas


Villa-Lobos, Heitor. 1952. IX. sinfonia: á Mindinha. Eugene Ormandy Collection of Scores. The autograph score (118 pp.) is in the Museu Villa-Lobos.

  • Document Type: Musical Score
  • Notes: Reproduction (ozalid) of manuscript. Caption title.
  • Description: 1 score (118 p.) ; 44 cm.
  • Other Titles: Mindinha., Symphonies,
  • Responsibility: H. Villa-Lobos.



The premiere was with the Philadelphia Orchestra, conducted by Eugene Ormandy.There are only a few performances of the Symphonies in the Villa-Lobos Concerts database.

Orchestral Works