Symphony #09


Dedicated to Mindinha.

  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo (Vivace)
  4. Allegro giusto

Symphony #08


Dedicated to Olin Downes.

  1. Andante
  2. Lento assai
  3. Allegretto scherzando
  4. Allego giusto 

Speaking of Downes, see this post about his review at Tumbling Villa-Lobos.

Symphony #07


The Seventh Symphony, written in 1945, is subtitled Odyssé da Paz, The Odyssey of Peace. 

The work was written for an international composition contest (based in Detroit).  Villa-Lobos used the pseudonym A. Caramuru.  I assume the work didn't win.

  1. Allegro vivace
  2. Lento
  3. Scherzo (Allegro non troppo)
  4. Allegro preciso

Symphony #06


  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Lento
  3. Allegretto quasi animato
  4. Allegro

"I spent a very interesting hour with Villa Lobos at the Brazilian Academy of Music. His study looks out on to a lake with mountains behind and yet it is in the middle of Rio, a city of two million odd inhabitants."

- "A Visit to South America", Leslie A. Boosey, Tempo, New Series, No. 10 (Winter, 1948-1949), pp. 25-20

The Sixth Symphony, written in 1944, is subtitled Montanhas do Brasil, The Mountains of Brasil.

Symphony #05 (score lost)


The score of Symphony #05, subtitled A Paz, The Peace, is unfortunately lost.

  1. Allegro
  2. Scherzo
  3. Moderato
  4. Allegro grandioso

Symphony #04


Written in 1919, the work's subtitle is A Vitória, The Victory.

  1. Allegro impectuoso
  2. Andantino
  3. Andante
  4. Lento - allegro

Symphony #03


The Third Symphony, written in 1919, is subtitled A Guerra, The War.

  • Allegro quasi giusto (A vida e o labor)
  • Como scherzo (Intrigas e cochichos)
  • Lento e marcial (Sofrimento)
  • Allegro impetuoso (A batalha)

Symphony #01


The first Symphony, written in 1920, is subtitled O Imprevisto, The Unforseen.

  1. Allegro assai moderato
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo (Allegro vivace)
  4. Allegro con brio 

You can listen to the Carl St. Clair/Stuttgart version of this work at Mbaraka (but note that the movements are out of order on that page.

Harmonica concerto


The harmonica concerto was commissioned by John Sebastian (1914-1980.)

  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Andante
  3. Allegro

According to Lisa Peppercorn, the premiere was in Jerusalem on October 27, 1959, with the Kol Israel Orchestra conducted by George Singer, though other reference works have the premiere with another orchestra.

Peppercorn quotes from a letter she received from Sebastian's widow, Nadia Sebastian, that certainly confirms the picture of how Villa-Lobos composed:

Suite Populaire Bresilienne


The work as we know it was completed in 1912, but portions were written in the previous decade.  This work is thus one of the earliest pieces by Villa-Lobos that's normally played today.  The first movement is dedicated to Maria Tereza Teran.




Subscribe to RSS - Work