Piano concerto #2


This work was written in Rio de Janeiro in 1948, and is dedicated to João de Souza Lima.

  1. Vivo
  2. Lento
  3. Cadência (quasi Allegro) 
  4. Allegro

Tom Jobim had a copy of Villa’s 2nd Piano Concerto score (two piano reduction by Villa-Lobos).  The score is included in the Jobim DSpace archive at the Instituto Antonio Carlos Jobim.


Piano concerto #1


Commissioned by the Canadian pianist Ellen Ballon.

  1. Allegro
  2. Allegro (poco scherzando)
  3. Andante
  4. Allegro non troppo 

Thesis: Concerto para piano e orquestra n 1 de Villa-Lobos: um estudo analítico-interpretativo, by Raimundo Mentor de Melo Fortes Filho

Fortes Filho, Raimundo Mentor de Melo, and Diana Santiago. "A politonalidade no concerto nº 1 para piano e orquestra de Villa-Lobos." in Anais do Simpósio de Pesquisa em Música (January 1, 2004). 

String Quartet #06


The sixth String Quartet was written in Rio in 1938, and dedicated to Orlando Frederico.


  1. Poco animato
  2. Allegretto
  3. Andante quasi adagio
  4. Allegro vivace

Listen to the beautiful 3rd movement, played by the String Quartet of Buenos Aires.

String Quartet #05


The fifth String Quartet was written in Sao Paulo in 1931, and dedicated to Joao Alberto Lins de Barros. It was subtitled "Quarteto Popular No. 1". The work includes quotations of Brazilian folk-songs (rare in Villa-Lobos). 


  1. Poco andantino
  2. Vivo e energico
  3. Andantino - tempo giusto e bem ritmado
  4. Allegro

String Quartet #04


SQ4 coverThe fourth String Quartet was written in Rio in 1917, and dedicated to Frederico Nascimento.


  1. Allegro con moto
  2. Andantino - Tranquilo
  3. Scherzo - Allegro vivace
  4. Allegro

String Quartet #03


The third String Quartet was written in Rio in 1916.  It sometimes goes by the subtitle Quarteto de pipocas, a reference to the pizzicati of the Scherzo.  - Tarasti (1995), p. 302.

This was one of the works featured in the 1922 Semana de Arte Moderna


  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Molto vivo
  3. Molto adagio
  4. Allegro con fuoco

String Quartet #02


The second string quartet was written in 1915.


  1. Allegro non troppo
  2. Scherzo - Allegro
  3. Andante
  4. Allegro Deciso

String Quartet #01


Written in Fribourgo, 1915.  Or was it?  The version we hear today is Villa-Lobos's 1946 re-write of the Suíte graciosa from 1915.  Tarasti says, though, that "Musical analysis supports the hypothesis that it really is a work of youth." p. 300.

"In the First String Quartet the Brazilianism is manifested rather mildly.  The work is, in fact, a series of small mood pictures (somewhat in the style of Nepomuceno and Levy)..." - Tarasti (1995), p. 298.


Pequena Suite for cello and piano


An early work by a professional cellist, this piece was written in 1913 in Rio de Janeiro.

I'm not too sure what to make of the fact that there are actually two works from 1913 for cello & piano listed in Appleby's catalogue: the 12 minute Pequena Sonata (W063), and the 15 minute Pequena Suite (W064).  According to Villa-Lobos: Sua Obra (1989) the Sonata is lost.

Here's an excellent performance of two movements from the Suite by cellist Mateus Ceccato and pianist Luciano Magalhãe.


Fantasia Concertante for piano, clarinet and bassoon


Written in Rio in 1953, the work is dedicated to the great pianist Eugene List.

You can listen to (and download) this work, as played by Gary Dranch, clarinet, Mitchell Vines, piano, and James Kopp, bassoon, from a recital at the Donnell Library in New York.

You can download the MP3 files from a 1972 LP from the Soni Ventorum Website.


Subscribe to RSS - Work